Phantom Brownlow Blog » Dangerfield wins 2016 Phantom Brownlow

Dangerfield wins 2016 Phantom Brownlow

Patrick Dangerfield

Well the best kept secret in AFL football is out. Patrick Dangerfield has won the 2016 Phantom Brownlow Medal, sealing the deal with a best on field performance in the final round.

Dangerfield cracked the magic 30 vote barrier and stormed home to win by 6 votes in total. Online bookie paid out on him a few weeks ago and it turns out they were righto do so, because he is a near certainty to claim his first Brownlow Medal.

It has been a magic season for Dangerfield after crossing to Geelong in the offseason. We have him polling in 13 of 22 matches, including seven 3 vote performances along the way.

In second position is Swans star Luke Parker who had a fantastic season. Parker polled 25 votes in total and was still in contention to win right up till the final match.

Parker stormed out of the box early in the season, racing to 12 votes after the opening six rounds. But a quiet patch in the middle of the season proved his down fall, as Dangerfield shot ahead and was unable to be caught.

Rounding out the top three was Eagles midfielder Luke Shuey with 23 votes. Shuey was in contention for the Brownlow Medal all season, however a slow end to the season where polled in only 2 of his final 7 games was his undoing.

Behind those three were Marcus Bontempelli, Dustin Martin and Rory Sloane, all locked on 22 votes apiece. Sam Mitchell of Hawthorn was just behind them on 21 votes.

The top ten was then rounded out by Jack Steven with 20 votes, followed by a host of players on 18 votes including Max Gawn, Josh Kennedy, Lance Franklin and Joel Selwood.

Congratulations to all punters who backed Patrick Dangerfield throughout the year. You look certain to claim money, because it is very hard to see an upset happening.

Be sure to head over to to check out some of their Brownlow Medal betting markets. There are tons of different things you can bet on over there, plus all new customers will qualify for a $501 Free Bet when registering!

Final Leaderboard

  • 31: Patrick Dangerfield (Gee)
  • 25: Luke Parker (Syd)
  • 23: Luke Shuey (Wce)
  • 22: Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
  • 22: Dustin Martin (Ric)
  • 22: Rory Sloane (Ade)
  • 21: Sam Mitchell (Haw)
  • 20: Jack Steven (Stk)
  • 18: Max Gawn (Mel)
  • 18: Josh Kennedy (Wce)
  • 18: Lance Franklin (Syd)
  • 18: Joel Selwood (Gee)

Posted by Brownlow Addict on Monday 29th August at 20:45:39

Have Your Say

Brownlow Winner Odds

Phantom Brownlow Standings

1   Dangerfield, Patrick 31
2   Parker, Luke 25
3   Shuey, Luke 23
4   Bontempelli, Marcus 22
  Martin, Dustin 22
  Sloane, Rory 22
7   Mitchell, Sam 21
8   Steven, Jack 20
9   Gawn, Max 18
  Kennedy, Josh 18
    See Full Standings...  

Team Most Votes Multis

They're here! Team Most Votes Mults are now available. Get yourself monstrous odds exclusively at by combining single players into one massive bet. Only at Sportsbet!

Brownlow Medal Odds

Follow PBM on Facebook

Brownlow Blog

2016 Brownlow Medal - Special Betting Offers
Monday September 26th
Patrick Dangerfield 2016 Brownlow Medal
Monday September 26th
Luke Parker 2016 Brownlow Medal
Monday September 26th
Marcus Bontempelli 2016 Brownlow Medal
Monday September 26th
Dangerfield wins 2016 Phantom Brownlow
Monday August 29th

Get the Brownlow Lowdown

After each round we send our Brownlow Lowdown e-mail to keep you updated with the movers and shakers in the PBM standings. Enter your e-mail address below to receive this each week!